• 03 - 7967 7711
  • studyabroad@um.edu.my

History of UM

History UM 1



University of Malaya, or UM, Malaysia’s oldest university, is situated on a 900 acre campus in the southwest of Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia. The varsity is proud to claim the title of the country’s premier university and the origins of the university can be traced back to 1905 with the founding of King Edward VII College of Medicine and its subsequent merger in 1949 with Raffles College (founded 1929) in Singapore to form the national university of the Federation of Malaya under the name of University of Malaya.
In 1954, the government put forward a proposal that the University of Malaya should rightly have two branches, one in Singapore and another in Kuala Lumpur. Through an act of parliament in 1961 the University of Malaya as we know it today in Kuala Lumpur, was established on 1 January 1962 as the first university in this country.

The University of Malaya has grown rapidly since its establishment and the University of Malaya alumni include Malaysian Prime Ministers, members of cabinet, top civil servants and diplomats, and leaders of the industry, the sciences, the arts and culture. In recent years, the University of Malaya has been designated as one of five research universities in Malaysia, and continues to actively spearhead a vigorous research agenda.

Both UM’s past and plans for the future reflect its vision of becoming “an internationally renowned institution of higher learning in research, innovation, publication and teaching.”

  • Activities' Schedule